Fenway at Fenway Redux

It’s been a very long time since I’ve written a blog post and a very long time since I’ve been to Fenway Park. But…that drought is about to come to an end in a very big way!

Friday morning we leave on what Dad calls “the great baseball pilgrimage.” He says he’s been dreaming about this trip since me and Camden got our names. He’s been waiting until just the right time.

He says “just the right time” means the year Ken Griffey Jr. goes into the Hall of Fame. Well, that time has finally come. Here’s a map of our planned journey.

Map

OK, in case that’s not perfectly clear, here’s is the plan….we fly to Boston. We’re bringing my cousin Alex. She’s a great girl. We drive her to Camp Danbee where she is going to stay and have a great time with my sisters Jazzlyn and Brooklyn and my Grandpa Leo. He teaches wood craft at Camp Danbee.

So, after we get to Boston we drive to Danbee. We stay for parent visit day on Sunday. The girls call it PV. Then we leave Alex at camp and head back to Boston where we get to go to a game at Fenway Park!

After that we go see the Yankees (booo!) at Yankee stadium. Then we drive to Baltimore where we’ll be the first people in our family to see a game at Camden Yards. Then, finally, we go to Cooperstown for Ken Griffey Jr.’s induction ceremony and my first trip to the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Cool!

In case you’re wondering what I’ve been up to, well, a bunch. Mercer Island is an awesome place for kids who love baseball like me. I played Little League for the Brewers. I was the starter in the league championship game. We lost that game but it was a great season for everybody on the team. Here’s a picture of our team with honorary pitching coach Felix Hernandez. Some people thought we got a cardboard cutout but no, that is the real Felix Hernandez.

felix

I also played for the Mercer Island Select team. Here’s me on the mound just last week.

FenwayPitching

My brother Camden gets to play on the Mercer Island All-Star team. Here’s his picture from the first game.

camden

I’m sad I don’t get to play on the team but really proud of my brother. There are some cool things I get to do that he doesn’t because he has to practice twice a day. For example, I got to hang with Russell Wilson at Husky Stadium!

russell

And…I got to be the PA dude for Mercer Island’s game against Kirkland American. We won 17-3. Here is me and my Dad introducing the players. I’m pretty sure I butchered the names of some Kirkland kids…sorry guys, I did my best.

padude

So, that is all for now. Stay tuned…we’re going to have some great baseball stories to share! Go Sox!

 

One comment

  1. Auntie Lou

    Fenway, this is FANTASTIC!!!! I did not even know you had a blog. I am SO IMPRESSED with your writing!! Have a great trip! Can’t wait to read more from you!
    Love, Auntie Lou

Leave a comment